Rainbow Environmental Services Inc Reviews - Cincinnati, OH | Angi (2023)

5.0

11/01/2017

Earl T.

Job was done perfectly, priced exactly as quoted. The team was right on time, professional, and curteous. Based solely on the internet reading I did on asbestos abatement, they did everything right - isolated the workspace, negative pressure ventilation exhausted outside, coveralls and shoe covers, bagged up the scraps, and cleaned up the dust. Pricey for 2 hours of work but there isn't much competition in this area as far as I could tell and I suspect you get what you pay for. The communication is a just a little strange. I requested a quote through their office call center but the job was then assigned to one of the field supervisors. In some ways that's good because I was scheduling through the person doing the job and we communicated directly through the whole process. On the other hand, he's out working all day so I usually had to wait until late in the day to get a call back. In the end, this was a simple job and it didn't cause any problems but I could imagine that being a hassle.

Description of Work
They encapsulated about 50 ft of old fraying asbestos insulation around hot water radiator pipes in the basement. Also, removed nails in the wall with scraps of asbestos where a previous owner had ripped out panel asbestos heat shield.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

04/11/2017

Steven P.

I called on a Monday and had asbestos removed on a pipe in my basement by Wednesday of the same week. A++ service. I highly recommend and I will use Rainbow for any future needs.

Description of Work
Asbestos was removed timely, professionally, and at a great price

Category asbestos removal

5.0

02/15/2017

JANE K.

Danny Russell came as scheduled and provided an estimate for the work. He was punctual, professional and patient with my questions. He did not alarm me or cause me to be apprehensive regarding the project. He assured me that Rainbow Environmental and his crew had successfully encapsulated pipes like mine. The crew completed the work and I was very pleased with the job they did. There was no mess, they cleaned up well, and I would recommend Rainbow Environmental without reservation. Having this work done was a big relief to me and I only wish I had called Rainbow Environmental sooner.

Description of Work
Rainbow Environmental Services encapsulated asbestos that was wrapped around no longer used boiler pipes I had in my garage and basement.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

06/30/2014

Jessica W.

It went very well. They had removed asbestos in the hall in 2012 so when it came time to remove the kitchen vinyl I called on them again. I teased I needed a repeat customer discount and to my surprise I got one! Everyone was professional, hardworking, and everything was done on time and as planned.

Description of Work
Removed 2 layers of vinyl in kitchen, bottom layer with asbestos.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

11/13/2013

KATHI G.

Danny was very professional. Easy to reach, quick to schedule and on time. He gave a professional opinion whether the mold was active (not) and why it was there (Lack of attic ventilation because my soffit vents were blocked with insulation.) He struck me as a very fair, experienced and honest inspector. If I had needed remidiation, Rainbow would have gotten the job! I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Inspect my attic for what could be mold

Category mold removal

5.0

10/23/2013

Robin G.

They called just before arrival and were exactly on time. I have dogs and was planning to put them out back all day but they assured me they were fine with them! They went to work and as they indicated - this was an all-day affair and they were VERY thorough. They sealed the ducts so no debris was sent back into the house and also let me know any time something was find that I might want to be aware of - like the baseball in the trunk line of the ductwork that has been there for at least 10 years! (My son laughed and owned up to this). They sent pictures taken within the ductwork to show the end product and I noticed immediately a fresher smell and LESS DUST in the house. Wish I had done this years ago! They charged exactly what I had been told; they did point out some things I may want to address in the future but there was no pressure to book. Interestingly I asked them about re-venting my dryer and they said they would look at it (for free) and depending on what it needed they may be able to - but this is not their area of expertise and may decline the job depending on what's involved. I thought that was very fair!

Description of Work
Inspected house ductwork at time of consultation before hired for service. They gave me an estimate that was precisely what I had been told to expect by a reputable company, and told me what they would be doing. They set up a date for the service that was quite immediate and told me what I could expect. They also indicated that they would prefer someone to be home - which is no problem.

Category air duct cleaning

10/21/2013

Jeff M.

They did not charge us anything. They inspected it and told us it was not really an issue and that we could clean it ourselves.

Description of Work
We did have Rainbow Environmental Services Inc. We called them because there was a little bit of mold in the house and we just wanted to have it checked to see if there was something we needed to have professionals remove or it was something which we could do our self.

Category mold removal

5.0

10/15/2013

Michelle P.

I contacted this company based on the fact there are several positive reviews. Positive ratings were hard to come by with other business that do the same thing.

Description of Work
This is a honest and good company. We had a possible mold issue in our basement. They contacted me back the same day as I contacted them and set up an appointment. Dave came out to assess the situation the following week. It turned out that my problem was not as bad as I thought. We appreciate Dave's review because other business were not as honest with us. He was very professional and knew what he was talking about.

Category mold removal

4.0

09/03/2013

Catherine S.

House was tested and determined that there was an excessive amount of spores throughout apparently coming from a mold problem in the basement. Rainbow team searched out all potential sources of mold (ripping out cabinets and chunks of wall board); threw away a large truck load of unsalvageable furniture and material; and washed down by hand EVERYTHING remaining including walls and ceilings, and sealed up objects remaining in basement tightly in plastic tubs or bags. Rainbow contracted out duct cleaning and air testing. Final testing showed the house was clean of mold. I bought a commercial grade dehumidifier for the basement to ensure I never have another problem.

Description of Work
Cleaned up heavy mold problem in house.

Category asbestos removal, mold removal

5.0

07/15/2013

Joseph M.

Service provider showed up right on time and began working immediately. Project was completed in just under 1 hour. The $450 minimum service charge seems a bit disproportionate for the time & materials that appear to have been used. Otherwise, the organization and technician were professional.

Description of Work
Treated and sealed a small area in the basement where non-hazardous mold was entering through small cracks.

Category asbestos removal, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Part of the $450.00 minimum charge is the cost of the estimator looking at the job, drive time to and from the job when the work was completed, warehouse time loading the truck, fuel, truck use, paper work for the supervisor to fill out, administrative work, billing, postage, etc... So when all the hours are added up, it comes up to 5 hours plue truck & fuel use. Most all service companies have a minimum fee they have to charge to cover these expenses. Hope this is helpful.

5.0

04/15/2013

Josh F.

They were good. I liked that their service was free. They were helpful and informative. They were an A across the board. They were awesome. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Rainbow Environmental Services came out and helped with some Asbestos testing.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

02/17/2013

Jessica W.

The old floor (pre 1982) under the newer floor in the hall entry (approx 100 sq feet) tested positive for asbestos. Rainbow sent someone out to determine the estimate for removal the same day I called. They were able to schedule removal for old and newer floor the next week. Everything was cleaned and put back together. They even went beyond a little by clearing some carpet tact strips to make it easier on the floorer. The only issue was destruction of the baseboard which I was trying to save. I don't think I communicated that well and it wasn't really useable after. I do plan to remove the same under floor in another room in the future and will be calling on Rainbow again.

Description of Work
Rainbow remove flooring in the entry hall so new bamboo floors could be installed. Approx 100 sq feet.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

02/12/2013

Paulette P.

They were professional, efficient and extremely fast.

Description of Work
Asbestos removal before demolition.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

02/04/2013

Jason H.

We bought a very old home 101 yrs and new we had some potential items with asbestos insulation. I called Rainbow and Danny came to my house and walked the scope down with me that day. He was very professional and knowledgeable. We discussed several options for the work, and he worked with me via 3 revisions to their proposal (at my request) to settle on the best value option to remove some items and encapsulate others. When it came time to schedule the work the office staff was very accommodating. The two gentlemen who did the work showed up on time. They took the time to walk the work down with me prior to starting. They did a great job and appeared to follow all the requirements of proper abatement. They finished in the projected time frame and took the time to review with me the completed work. While I hope to not need this type of work again, if we open up any walls, for other work, I will be sure to give them a call.

Description of Work
Removed 3 pieces of old heat shield coated in presumed asbestos and encapsulated 7 discrete areas on duct work.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

01/15/2013

Karen B.

Their quote was for $1,200, which was too much, so we did not use them. They were very kind, considerate and on time but their price was more than I wanted to pay. They were very responsive.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Rainbow Environmental Services for asbestos removal.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

09/18/2012

Willard C.

On a Thursday morning, we had a carpet layer remove a carpet which had been flooded and smelled of mold. Shortly into the process, he reported that the tile beneath it was beginning to crumble and loosen from the floor. We stopped the process immediately. We called Rainbow in the early afternoon. They came out Friday morning to check out the situation. They confirmed that the tile was asbestos (as we had believed), and said it should be removed. They said it was not an immediate hazard, if the area was sealed off, but that it should be dealt with and removed. We agreed, and requested that it be done before the weekend was out. They provided an estimate by late Friday afternoon, and we promplty accepted it. and told them to proceed. A crew arrived Saturday morning. They sealed the rooms to contain the asbestos. They then removed the soaked carpeting, the asbestos tiles, and the associated glue and mastic. They cleaned up the area, left it with a pine-like smell, and were done by mid-afternoon. Our Office Manager, who occupies one of the offices, and uses the other for copier fuinctions was on hand. She was very pleased with the punctuality, the speed, the cleanup, and the results. They invoiced us for the amount of the estimate ($980). NOTE: This is an office area, not a home, but the "Home Built" date is accurate.

Description of Work
"Sealed" double office area to contain asbestos as it came up. Pulled up, removed, and discarded carpeting which had been glued to old asbestos tile in a double office. Scraped up crumbling asbestos tile, glue, and mastic from concrete floor. Contained, removed, and disposed of all substances removed. Cleaned up area, and mopped with pine-smelling cleaner.

Category asbestos removal, mold removal

5.0

08/30/2012

SHANNON O.

It went very smoothly. The man who came to do the testing -- take the samples -- said he didn't think there was asbestos and I would be fine, no worries, but he performed the test to confirm his suspicion. He was correct. Everything was done promptly, efficiently, and professionally.

Description of Work
I was replacing some old Pergo flooring with new laminate. It turned out there were two layers of old vinyl sheet flooring under the old Pergo, and the flooring company said because of the age of my home there was a possibility that the vinyl flooring contained asbestos. So I had to have someone test for asbestos before the flooring could be replaced. The flooring installer recommended Rainbow Environmental Services, Inc., to do the testing. When I called, they came either that afternoon or the next day to take a small sample of the two layers of vinyl flooring. Once the testing was done, they both emailed me a PDF of the test results (all negative) and mailed me a hard copy. Honestly, I didn't know this was a company or service that existed or was necessary, but it all went very smoothly.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

04/09/2012

Samantha R G.

It was great! I needed they earliest possible appointment and they were able to get us an appointment that week. I spoke to the receptionist and she told me that Danny (the Manager) was assigned to us and told us that he would be calling with questions, explanantion of work to be performed, etc.. Danny called the next day and explained what he was going to and saidsince we were 1st home buyers he would inspect the entire house for mold (which was not in the original plan, but very thankful and thoughtful of him and didn't cost us a thing). The appointment was originally supposed to be at 9:30 am on Wednesday the 28th, but he had to reschedule for later that day, which he called me the day of to tell us. After leaving the house, Danny called me and described what he had seen and said he performed air tests inside and outside the house and told us that he recommend ed a full mold mediation (which we ended up putting into our offer and the sellers are now paying for, he gave us an estimate of $4,500). He told me that we wouldn't get the results until Monday the 2nd, which seemed like a long time, but told me he could get me the results by Friday for an extra 5 bucks per test, so 10bucks overall, not bad in the grand scheme of things. We wanted Rainbow to perform the mold mediation, but the sellers are using a vendor of their choice (one their realtor has a contract with).

Description of Work
Before making an offer on our house, our realtor suggested that we have a mold testing done (specifically in the basement to check for black mold). I called Rainbow Services and explained the situation and I was told the visual inspection would be $75 and each air test would be $60 one inside and one outside (but they only ended up charging us $70 for the visual).

Category mold removal

1.0

03/23/2012

Scott N.

rThey were out to my house to give me an estimate on my basement tiles that needed to be removed because of asbestos concerns. They never got back with me. I emailed them and talked to the man who was out to give me the quote. He said he would get right back to me and never did. This is very poor professionalism. I guess they do not want the work and were not considerate enough to let me know in a professional manner.

Description of Work
Estimate only. They never followed up with me or got back with me when I tried contacting them again.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

We went out to the property and took samples of the tile in question. Our inspectior told Member to call the office with a credit card number as we cannot send in the samples without payment. Member never called in so we were under the impression he no longer was interested in having his tile removed.

1.0

11/30/2011

Ryan L.

I just closed out on an older home and when I had my inspection done they recommended I bring in someone to test for Asbestos before I begin any work. Terry from Rainbow Environmental took several test samples ($25 a test, 10 * $25=$250) and he told me it would take about 48 hours for the results. I never heard back from Terry or Rainbow Environmental after one week, so I called for my results. The lady on the phone told me they found asbestos in a few samples and I would have my write-up and estimate sent to my email that evening, but nothing ever showed up. I called back a number of days later and Terry was not around. I was inquiring about my results and details from Terry. She was very rude and said, "didn't I give you those already?". She ran through them and said Terry would have a write-up to me with an estimate that evening? Well, we are now moving into the third week and no emails or calls from Terry and Rainbow Environmental. I am not sure I got my full report for the $250 I spent, so I took my notes from the last call and reached out to another company to handle the work. I was not sure how long this round-robin would go and was eager to getting the work clean-up and disposed so I could make my move. I will never recommend Rainbow-Environmental and will be sure to reach out and tell my experience to all contractors and design companies I am working with on this project. You cannot trust Rainbow to follow-through on their word.

Description of Work
Asbestos tests performed on about 10 sample materials for approximately $25 a test. Terry came out and we walked through the entire house as I noted a few items that I had concerns based on home inspector's comments. Terry mentioned that I would have my results in 48 hours and an estimate to perform any work, if asbestos was found.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Our inspector Danny Russell took samples of the suspect material on November 17th. Four samples came back positive for asbestos on November 22nd. Danny emailed a proposal to remove the asbestos materials but found in his mailer demon on November 28th that the email address he typed in was incorrect. Danny then again sent the proposal out with an appology. It did not bounce back this time. The time line was not out of the norm due to the Thanksgiving holdiay. We did not hear back from Member which is not uncommon in this business when potential customers see the price.

5.0

09/17/2011

Curt M.

The crew worked quickly and diligently. The supervisor appeared to be interested in doing a thorough job. I was satisfied with his work. The company has not yet called with test results, though results were expected one week ago. Rainbow does not require any payment until the job is finished and test results are available.

Description of Work
Remove mold-infested drywall and baseboard of finished basement after flood. Scrub all affected surfaces. Provide basement and first floor air filter throughout job. Perform post-abatement testing.

Category mold removal

5.0

07/27/2011

Barbara B.

They did what they were supposed to and were very thorough as far as sealing off the room and doing the necessary treatments. They were very good.

Description of Work
They did mold remediation.

Category mold removal

5.0

07/16/2011

CAROL H.

They were very good as far as price and responsiveness were concerned. This is the second time that I have used them. They do like contamination clean up and asbestos containment and things like that. I have an older home and the pipes are wrapped in plates, almost like plaster like stuff and it’s actually an asbestos wrap. It comes in various forms for different reasons. So they specialize in all this kind of stuff. I will use their services again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Rainbow Environmental Services Inc for asbestos removal. I last used their services probably in November of 2010. I had to have some of the pipes re-wrapped and get the specialty service to do that for me. They came in and took care of that.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

09/30/2010

Ben S.

Rainbow did an excellent job. Their inspector determined what would be needed in order to remove the insulation, allayed any worries about contamination, and was efficient in having a quote sent to us. The workers who did the job were professional, sealed the room during the removal process, and did an excellent job of cleaning up afterwards. While the job was expensive, the cost was comparable to other bids and with other removal jobs with which I was familiar.

Description of Work
Removal of approximately 40 linear feet of preformed radiator pipe insulation containing asbestos.

Category asbestos removal

4.0

03/24/2010

Gina B.

Overall, it was okay. We were very pleased and positive with the gentleman who did the initial testing and gave us the quote. We were told that he would lead our project and be here every day. My positive feeling about him and his work is what made us choose them. It was a two week job and they pulled him off the second week. Their second lead was also good, thorough, and concerned the job was done correctly. However, they had a few people that cycled in and out. The quality of their work was a mixed bag. There were items that I did not feel were cleaned properly (which the second lead re-did). And the way items were handled after cleaning by some of the temporary folks left much to be desired. Some people piled everything in a jumbled heap, one individual in particular. Our post-testing had an anomaly. Although it was likely not an issue, the post-testing inspector was concerned. I was not happy with the manager's response. He definitely made me feel uncomfortable on whether or not he would stand by his work. Things worked out okay, but I never felt at ease with his response.

Description of Work
Did initial mold testing, recommended remediation steps, and performed remediation.

Category mold removal

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Pres. Carey Rath

Last Updated: 01/23/2023

Views: 6216

Rating: 4 / 5 (41 voted)

Reviews: 80% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Pres. Carey Rath

Birthday: 1997-03-06

Address: 14955 Ledner Trail, East Rodrickfort, NE 85127-8369

Phone: +18682428114917

Job: National Technology Representative

Hobby: Sand art, Drama, Web surfing, Cycling, Brazilian jiu-jitsu, Leather crafting, Creative writing

Introduction: My name is Pres. Carey Rath, I am a faithful, funny, vast, joyous, lively, brave, glamorous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.